Sugarpill candy cut-crease

Yeah, another of these. It’s not as well suited for my face, as I’d like. I love the pairing of shades with Flamepoint and Buttercupcake, though.  For some reason, this made me think of a bowl of jelly beans.  I’m sort of hungry right now though.

Eyes
UDPP
Sugarpill Poison Plum-crease
Sugarpill Tako-highlight
Sugarpill Love+ -outer corner
Sugarpill Dollypop-middle of lid
Sugarpill Flamepoint-edge of Dollypop
Sugarpill Buttercupcake-inner corner
ELF Eyeliner pen in Midnight-upper lashline, winging out at edge. Sketch in two additional wings below the first.
MUFE Aqua eyes in black-lower waterline
Cargo Lash Activator mascara

Cheeks
MAC Gentle

Lips
MUFE Rouge artist Intense #11
Eve Pearl lip gloss in Baby Doll

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. va
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 12:44:15

    beautiful artwork , love the neon pink in the shadow .

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 13:00:39

      Thanks. It was fun to do, even if it’s somewhat impractical.

      Reply

      • va
        Jan 27, 2011 @ 13:15:04

        it is fun to play with colors ! have u tried working with all natural makeup like mineral makeup or 100 percent pure which is my fav. brand .

      • dolcearia
        Jan 27, 2011 @ 13:42:27

        I’ve tried mineral makeup from Bare essentials, Bella Pierre, Shiro, Fyrinnae, HiFi, Venomous Cosmetics. I have not tried 100 percent pure, though. I haven’t seen it available anywhere!

        I have sort of an irrational distrust of many mineral makeup brands. I don’t doubt the products are fully “safe”, but I generally dislike the marketing ploy that so many mineral lines use—-that ANYTHING else is bad, full of cancer causing things, and companies hope to profit off your allergic reactions by selling you on DIFFERENT products. I find it hypocritical since the paraben/cancer study that forms the basis of this fearmongering has been fairly solidly discredited. Besides that, many mineral brands use products that can be allergens, or cause respiratory issues(if you want to be VERY hyperbolic. I don’t know how ANYONE could inhale that much Mica without intentionally trying).

        Generally, if a line happens to be mineral, and I like the products, I’ll use it. I don’t intentionally search for that as a selling point, though. Plus, so many of the eyeshadows marketed as mineral tend to be mica with nothing to help them adhere. While that looks good on the label, it means that they rarely last very long, unless foiled. And many brands repackage colors from TKB products you can get MUCH cheaper.(Bella Pierre, Mica Bella, etc. ALL have EXACTLY the same colors. Lipsticks and Lightsabers, in my sidebar, has swatches of all the TKB mica shades, and a lot of comparison swatches with various MM brands to see who is actually creating their own colors)

        There ARE reputable indie mineral brands, like Meow, Shiro, HiFi, Fyrinnae, etc. I’d rather not spend my money on most of the main MM players, though. I feel bad, since I’ve had a few people on here ask me to do mineral only tutorials—-but it really isn’t something I particularly am enthusiastic about, or agree with.

  2. Helena
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 13:55:25

    Ah. Pure love :))

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 14:02:53

      hehehe thanks! This is my favorite cut-crease I’ve done yet. It’s still not the prettiest shape on my face, though. I just love the colors!

      Reply

  3. Susan
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 13:56:41

    Wow; great job! So pretty!! You must have been or should be a theatrical makeup artist! You’re so good at it.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 14:05:11

      Thanks! I’m not sure how many stages this would really work on, but it would definitely show up! I think I may redo it with a different liner. The ELF pen I used works GREAT for quick lashlines, but it seemed to dry out on the wings, and they aren’t as precise as they ought to be. I had to go over them about three times each to get them to show up! Sigh. ALWAYS stuff to change and fix.

      Reply

  4. va
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 15:13:42

    that is ok , do what u r comfy doing . i love heavenly naturals from etsy.com she does custom orders and I had some mineral tinted balms custom done for me by her . she is reasonably priced and also has non natural colors u might like too . I myself try to use as much natural products as possible and read the contents carefully . thanks for the reply .

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 15:17:39

      Every one is different. There’s certainly mineral products I like, and I’ll have to add hers to my list to try! Really, I guess I just have a very strong reaction to certain types of advertising campaigns(I love proving almost ANYONE wrong. I’ve mostly restrained myself from writing about skincare/anti-aging products since so much of THAT is just snake oil, and markup. I REALLY don’t like to write negative reviews about products that MAY work wonders on someone with a slightly different skin type/manufacture preference/etc.

      Reply

  5. Phyrra
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 15:58:30

    I like the cut crease.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 16:02:56

      Thanks. I don’t think cut-creases match my face shape, though I DO like really harsh, deep creases anyways. I like practicing, though. Honestly, my face is just too round to look good broken up that linearly. I was overall pretty happy with the blending though.

      Reply

  6. spidergirl
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 06:28:41

    Now that’s the cut-crease I like to wear and see others wear, too. Your eyes are looking quite pretty both closed and opened with this angle don’t know why but the last two pictures tell it right away! I must try this type as I can see how it’s creating an illusion of a longer eye. Simply loved it!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 28, 2011 @ 09:03:42

      This is definitely my cleanest recent cut-crease. The technique CAN be nice, when done right. Have fun playing around with it! It can take some practice to do a clean cut-crease, but I think that kind of discipline in blending is ALWAYS good! Maybe I’ll put together a quick tutorial for this one, soon. Would need to redo it to get in-progress photographs, but it might help for getting the hang of the technique.

      Reply

  7. NTG
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 11:46:56

    This look is amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

