quick vintage smoky eye

Eh, I did MUA for a photoshoot today, so going all-out on my makeup seemed a little silly.  I wore this deep smoky eye, with very bright lips.  I’d wanted purple, at first, but I figured Lady Danger might look a little bit more polished.  If the eyes look familiar, it’s because every time I want an “easy smoky glamor”, I use these eyeshadow duo’s.  I LOVE hourglass Exhibition and Suede.  My eyebrows aren’t as sharp as normal, because my normal brush made it into my MU kit, and I used a different one, with softer bristles, when I did my own makeup.  Ah well.

Eyes
UDPP
Hourglass Exhibition duo burgundy-outer corner
Hourglass exhibition duo mauve-middle of lower lid
Hourglass Suede duo pale gold-inner corner and highlight
Hourglass suede duo pale brown-above crease to soften
Buxom lashliner in Leatherette-upper lashline, smudging
UD 24/7 liner in Zero-lower waterline
Layer Cargo Lash Activator and GOGO mascara

Cheeks
MAC Gleeful

Lips
MAC Lady Danger

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 17:33:14

    Oooh, so pretty! I’ll bet they were impressed!! You look edgy yet professional.
    Love it!
    What was the photoshoot for? (I’m a photog, and my daughter is a model).

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 05:07:19

      Practice, mainly. We did a few flawless neutral portraiture ones, and then some crazier concept shots with a LOT of candy, and very bright makeup. The photographer is fairly new to studio photography, so she wanted practice, and I am just beginning to build my portfolio, so I need every shot of someone other than me, that I can get!

      I liked this makeup, though. I didn’t have to fuss with it once, and it looked just as clean when I took off from the shoot. That’s always a relief.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:21:00

    Oh, I miss having my daughter because I could make her up any way I wanted and she was so good at modeling (most people don’t know how to for a photographer). It does build great portfolio’s for MUA’s, models and photographers!
    I wish my clients weren’t afraid to “go for it” even a little! SO conservative! I wonder if I’d even know what to do with a bride that had bright orange/pink/blue explosion of eye color! LOL

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 10:51:24

      Having a good model definitely helps! I can kind of understand brides wanting subdued or “classic” makeup for the occasion, but even a little color would definitely be fun! I have to admit—I’m kind of curious to see how much patience I’ll have for bridal makeup, since I am pretty bored by neutral makeup. I’m sure I’ll enjoy the challenge of working on a variety of faces, but I’m sure that in a year or so I’ll be pleading for just a LITTLE bit of neon blue hidden somewhere in the look!

      Ah well, we’ll see.

      Reply

  3. Susan
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 11:35:04

    Well, yes, I do agree for the Test of Time, brides should choose neutrals. But for them to say “I don’t wear much makeup” sure makes the photos, I want to say blah, but probably the word should be ordinary.

    I should also say that, well, my daughter wore a RED dress with red feather fascinator/Russian netting at her wedding this last spring! Neutral makeup though. : )

    I loved that she wore color, and I loved that it wasn’t another strapless gown.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 12:13:50

      How funny! My best friend wore a red dress, fur collar, and had her hair pincurled, with vintage-styled makeup. The photos are BEAUTIFUL. And I’m fully in favor of people incorporating color into their special occasions. It’s so odd how many people have distorted ideas of “not much makeup”. It takes a HECK of a lot of makeup to look like you aren’t wearing much, when it’s done right! I think it’s sort of become a cultural thing, nowadays. I don’t understand it at all. Admittedly, most of my early makeup experiences were on the stage—where you NEEEED more makeup. But I’m not sure at what point it became a sign of failure, or insecurity, to wear more than one piece of makeup at a time.

      Reply

  4. Susan
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 12:19:15

    OMG, how gorgeous! FUR AND PINCURLS!! Vintage makeup!! Wish I could see HER photos! ; )

    Yeah, it does take a lot of makeup to not look made up. I guess people aren’t used to seeing any makeup on at all, and then a little looks like a lot to them. I take photos of myself and think, gee, where did it go? LOL

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 13:09:33

      It really suits her. She has a gorgeous face shape for it, and already tries to emulate a lot of the pinup style anyways. So it actually looks very natural on her. I’m jealous of her hairstyling abilities. She’s phenomenal at curling hair. I’ve NEVER been able to get results even half as nice!

      I always laugh discussing the definitions of makeup “looks” with people. Half the time, a “glamorous neutral smoky eye” involves sparky black and silver and “minimal makeup” involves a pile of bronzer, and four different shades of bronze and taupe, and a bit of gold. I’ve kind of taken to emailing pictures back and forth with potential clients, just to make sure we’re on the same page when they say “natural makeup for basic portraiture”.

      Photography ALWAYS washes makeup off, though. I almost always end up darkening it once I see the first few test shots if it’s for photography only.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

