Review: Hard Candy baked eyeshadow in Supernova

I’m not sure if anyone remembers my grumbling about the fiasco surrounding the MAC Venomous VIllians collection.  I was quite irate at the quantities offered, and the fact that  my local MAC store took pre-orders DIRECTLY from their normal stock—-so many items never even made it to the walk-in consumer! That just seems like a horrible way to run things.  I bought Supernova, as a holdover for the mineral eyeshadow duo’s I missed.  I wondered if the line of colors might handle similarly enough for me to want more shades.
Supernova is a rich, blackened violet, with dark magenta sparkles.  Applied dry, it’s very dark, with minimal purple.  Applied wet, it’s slightly more metallic and glittery. It has nice pigmentation, though it’s a bit chalky, dry.  Applied wet, the sparkle still isn’t as vibrant as I’d have hoped, but it makes a really nice smoky eye! It reminds me a lot of MAC Later pigment(from A Tartan Tale), Much more so than the eyeshadow duo I had hoped it might duplicate.

It wears well, and I haven’t encountered any issues.  I do wish it was a bit easier to apply, but for $6, it’s not too bad at all.  The packaging DOES feel a bit flimsy, and I don’t know that I’d trust it in my purse, carried around a lot.  It’s nice and compact, for my train case, though.

The colors in this particular line of baked eyeshadows all tend to be similar to SUpernova–a blackened base, with colored glitter and a small amount of shimmer. I probably will end up with a few more.  I couldn’t tell you how this compares to thier normal eyeshadow, or other line of duo’s though. THis is the first Hard Candy product I’ve owned. I just got three additional shades from their Baked Eyeshadow selection—Space Cadet(green sparkles), Intergalactic(bronze/copper sparkles), and Asteroid(Navy blue sparkles).  Those will be reviewed, as I test them.  There does seem to be a wee bit of variance in the actual pigmentation, even though all products are quite similar.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 09:37:57

    Yeah, I’m getting fed up with MAC and their stoopid Limited Editions…i.e. Stereo Rose, Ombre Peach blushes, Delft, Moss Scape paint pots, and MANY eye shadows. They’re out before you can get to the store, out before you call the store, and out before my PREORDER FROM NORDSTROMS! Nice products, lousy marketing. Argh.
    I think that’s why I’m turning to Wet n Wild more and more. MAC didn’t patent their eyeshadows and therefore WnW has the formulas! WnW dupe for Stereo Rose is “Ember Glow” loose bronzer for, like, $4 or less!! The new palettes they’ve been coming out with have lots of dupes and you can get the names of the colors from You Tube.
    I have only tried the Hard Candy Sheer Primer. Ok. Not special in my opinion. I looooked at those eyeshadows, cringed at the packaging and decided crepey droopy eyes wouldn’t actually look like I imagine in the mirror with all the glitter.
    I’ll bet it will be gorgeous on your younger eyes!! : )

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 17:12:33

      If you’re interested, they make GREAT liners, applied wet. Applied dry, surprisingly little of the glitter adheres. I’m sure you could make it work for you, in moderation.

      Yeah, MAC has some lovely things…. but limited edition used to mean “it’s available for a limited time”. Not “It will never be available unless you jump through these hoops, determined arbitrarily with NO real relation to product popularity, local market demand, or chronological release”. It’s just a horrid way to treat your consumers. Especially since MOST of them ARE the pedestrians who don’t have time, energy, or research to pre-order a product ahead of time.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 17:30:36

    You put it succinctly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

