Autumns finest gold is green

Please forgive the somewhat unfinished look. It’s quite late, I’ve spent the day chasing car parts, and I’m having some sort of allergic reaction that is causing the skin of my lips to peel off, and a LOT of itching on the rest of my face. Oddly enough, I haven’t changed ANYTHING in my routine, except for chewing gum. Has anyone ever gotten an allergic reaction from chewing GUM? I’m a bit stumped.  Anyone who has ever wondered what my skin looks like without foundation or blush?  There you go.  Nothing too bad, but not as polished as normal either.

Eyes
UDPP
Hard Candy Intergalactic-apply wet to outer lower lid, lower lashline
Sugarpill goldilucks-inner corner
Fyrinnae Aztec Gold-crease
MAC Nylon-highlight
Cargo Lash activator mascara
pat goldilucks onto the tips of lashes, while mascara is wet.
UD 24/7 liner in Stash-lower waterline

Lips
MUFE rouge artist intense #16
NARS Pampa lip stain.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 13:58:30

    Anything can cause an allergic reaction. So gum doesn’t surprise me (especially with all the crap they put in it). :/

    Lovely look.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 14:05:05

      That’s good to know. I have TMJ jaw troubles, so i NEVER chew gum. Yesterday, I chewed my nails, lips, and cheek raw trying to stay functional and keep my temper with work idiocy, so I gave in and brought a pack of the boyfriends gum with me to my training.

      I NEVER chew gum. But I haven’t changed my skincare, and aside from being slightly more unbathed than usual, there’s been no significant changes to cause it. Even my diet has been pretty much the same! I can’t wait till the itching and peeling is done. My lips hurt. I really didn’t want to do full fae makeup, but this was so pretty I HAD to at least finish it enough to show the overall structure, on my face.

      Reply

    • Taryn Welt
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 15:05:16

      it might be the sweetner they put in it. my friend is allergic to Splenda sweetener so id get that checked out

      Reply

      • dolcearia
        Feb 02, 2011 @ 15:11:56

        Hmm. I have to look at what sweetener it is now. I’ve NEVER had a reaction to synthetically sweetened diet pop, or sugar free candies, or anything I know of that uses sweeteners like Splenda. Never too early to start, though? Plus, there’s more artificial sweeteners every day…. Darn the lengths people take to avoid actual MODERATION in their sugar/sweet/diet/food consumption.

  2. rough sketch
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 14:41:01

    I would definitely say that it was the gum for the fact that your lips seem to have gotten the brunt of it.

    You still look lovely tho’. 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 14:46:05

      That’s really kind of you. I’m looking forward to my skin going back to normal.

      I must make a note to add this gum onto my list of “things to avoid” I thought I was being crazy, but that’s the ONLY I could think had changed. I KNEW there was a reason I didn’t like gum!

      Reply

  3. Susan
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 14:59:05

    Sorry about the allergy…how awful when you want to Do Makeup. This is another gorgeous look. I can’t believe your energy when you don’t feel so good.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 15:08:08

      It worked out, since I was gone the vast majority of the day and getting a late start anyways. This kept me from doing my usual 2-3 looks, between the time and the allergy.

      The boyfriend marvels at my energy a LOT. When I’m cheerful and complacent, I just want to bask in my happiness, and not move. When I feel like crud, and can barely do anything…. I make myself do EVERYTHING just to prove I CAN. It’s a REALLY odd reversal. I can NEVER be productive enough to make myself feel better, but at least making the minimum “one FOTD one review” and adding to a few drafts makes me feel that I AM stubborn enough to overcome whatever the irritation-du-jour is. It’s funny…. Every time i’m so ill i can hardly stand, he has to plead with me not to cook, or apply makeup…. he can barely get me to sit still.

      But it’s so hard to build that momentum up once you’ve lost it! Even assuming I can get an extra EOTD edited and saved once a week…. once I use it, the next day is usually WORSE. And then I have NOTHING, and I feel sad for disappointing myself. I seriously doubt anyone really notices if I miss a post or two, but I find it SOOOOOOOOOOOO much harder to pick up where I left off!

      Reply

  4. Krystal
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 15:13:54

    so i need to know how the hell do u blend the black so good with the gold?!?!?!? ive tried blending black and it just doesnt work!!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 15:27:57

      I usually work Dark to Light. That way, the dark color tends to be blended over and diffused more. For this one, I applied the dark bronze wet, blended the edges out with a bare brush after it dried, and then applied Goldilux to the inner corner, patting the pigment in, inwards, and over the seam. The trick is in overlapping the colors at that seam. Once its placed, you can use sweeps to further blend and diffuse.

      Goldilux applied over a dark shadow or pigment takes on a more broken sparkly look that works well with that blending technique. If you are still having issues, remember to use more bare-brush blending over your dark color, before adding the gold. The more work you do with a bare brush, blending the edges, the easier it will be to blend other colors over that edge to soften it further. If i had to break down my eyeshadow application, it would be 20% rough placement of the colors, 70% bare brush blending, and 10% adding more color and finalizing blendings and seams.

      Hope that helps!

      Reply

  5. Susan
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 08:44:29

    Well, I admire you, but “nothing in excess”. Don’t wear yourself out too early!
    Gees, today I don’t feel so hot either. I’ll sit all day and PhotoShop my wedding album that just got ordered and call that enough work today! (I stacked a ton of firewood yesterday.) (And no one will notice I’m looking at Makeup sites! LOL)

    As for the tips with the black; good stuff. I need to blend looonger than I have been and use the clean brush. I always figured to just use the same brush and eventually it would blend/clean. Good info using the percentages. Gives me a better idea what you mean.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 09:40:17

      I use the same brush… I just clean it. If it’s on my own face, I wipe off excess pigment on my forearm or wrist. If it’s on someone else, I have a paper towel spritzed with makeup remover over part(for major cleanings) and a bare corner for removing excess pigment.

      Photoshop is HARD work! I have to admit-I barely do anything on my photos(Cropping, adjusting colors or vibrancy if there’s a cast, or i want to get playful, MAYBE applying the heal tool over a major blemish or smeared lipstick edge in a macro). Even that puts me in a thoroughly foul mood, though I think the results are usually pretty decent.

      Reply

  6. Susan
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 09:58:07

    LOL, I find PhotoShop hard on my rear and back from sitting in the danged chair for hours on end! (Well, I do have to admit I wander around on internet sites at the same time.)

    I have about 37 images to prepare for printing and I want them perfect….I’m almost there…..

    Reply

  7. dolcearia
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 10:56:08

    My computer is nigh broken, so even simple things take FOREVEEEEEEEER! Plus, the monitor is ancient and distorts things, so I can’t see it very well with my glasses on. I’m wondering if I need bifocals, because I CAN’T wear my glasses when I’m on the computer, or reading books. My eyes just won’t focus. I’m not sure if it’s because the prescription is ancient, and no longer fits them, or if i should be worried. heh.

    Reply

  8. spidergirl
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 00:10:46

    I could have never put makeup on so creatively if I were allergic, but girl you’re looking awesome in this look! Gives me the pointer how well olive/bronze can go with bronze/nutmeg lips! I’m dying to wear that look! Classic!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 04, 2011 @ 08:44:24

      Thanks. I was iffy on the lips—-with the skin flaking off, and the stiff texture of the lipstick I could NOT for the life of me get an even application! Plus, I think those sorts of rosy browns are usually a bit iffy on me. I needed something to balance out the eyes, to take some face shots…..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

