Review: OCC Lip Tar in Anime

I snagged this during OCC’s last sale.  Anime is one of OCC’s most wearable bright shades. It’s a pure neon pink.  NEON pink.  It leans cool, and probably won’t look as nice on warmer undertone users.  It lasts for HOURS,though it is slightly drying, and the application and pigmentation is SEAMLESS.  $12.50 is a bit expensive for one lip product, but on par with other brands like MAC, MUFE, etc.  There’s a faint mint smell, and flavor, but I’ve smelled far stronger, and it’s not very noticeable.  You only need a teeny amount for nice coverage—more than that and you may find it ending up on your teeth.

I have a mild obsession with Lip Tars.  Between the application, color selection, long wear, it’s a dream come true! I own about twelve shades now, and mix many more variations!  They’re definitely better suited for professional makeup art than for daily use… most of the colors are NOT for the faint of heart, and the application is best suited for use with a lip brush.

I’ve also reviewed NSFW, Complex, and Memento.  I’m trying to do the shades that work best standalone before I get to the ones that get more use mixed or blended.

SHown next to Clear, and Memento lip tars.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stephanie
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 13:44:09

    Are you willing to sell samples?
    Thanks
    Stephanie

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 04, 2011 @ 13:49:38

      Quite honestly, I use my lip tars often enough that I don’t think I could part with any of it! I’d rather not be replacing things soon. I know there are people on other communities who do sell samples of the OCC lip tars. I don’t offhand recall any of the information on who. I just saved to buy the full tube of the colors I wanted.

      Reply

  2. Phyrra
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 14:41:15

    Love the color but I hate teh formula.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 04, 2011 @ 15:03:37

      I don’t like the formula for average-daily-wear type occasions I have yet to find ANYTHING that blends this nicely for my crazy lips, or photoshoots, though.. Normally I dislike many lipglosses because I want even MORE color,so hte OCC Lip tars have been like fresh air. I got the clear one too, I just need to start playing with it to see how OCC Lip Tar sheer tints will layer over other products.

      I do wish it was less drying, though. I try to limit my usages a bit because my lips are tender enough anyways.

      Reply

  3. Roseanne
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 22:03:38

    Anime is super pretty!! I’ve done a few swatches of OCC lip tars – Paegent, Strutter and Stalker in particular http://roseannebeauty.onsugar.com/Roseannetangrs-Review-OCC-Lip-Tars-11288464 if you’re looking to add more to your stash. Paegent is like a super hot pink and the rest are classic, striking reds 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 16, 2011 @ 09:16:05

      Hmmm…. I got Stalker in their Mixmaster kit, but it looked almost EXACTLY like NSFW(just slightly cooler), so I gave it away unopened. I think I’ve got a nice range of shades now, but I’m definitely eager to see more.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

