Experimental Black Phoenix

Testing ideas for a shoot coming up in a few days.  This makeup is NOT intended for myself.  I really dislike monochrome black/gray looks on my skin tone.  It ALWAYS looks harsh and drag-queeny, but NOT in a pretty way.

Eyes

MAC Painterly

UD Maui Wowie-lower lid, lower corner of eye above outer eyeshadow wing.

Hourglass Exhibition burgundy-outer corner, and lower lashline

MAC Beauty Marked-crease

MAC Vanilla-highlight

Buxom lashliner in Leatherette- upper lashline and lower waterline

Fresh Supernova mascara

Lips

MAC Myth

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena (XOXO Parisky)
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 15:16:11

    But I love it! 🙂 It makes you look like a cat 😛
    I can’t wait to see some pictures from the shooting 🙂

    Reply

  2. dolcearia
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 15:27:39

    I’m still waiting for the final edits from teh first shoot. I hope this one comes out half as well. The other people involved are REALLY talented. It just happens to be a concept that uses my least favorite color concept.

    The directions are pretty much “Black/gray high fashion couture editorial with really teased hair and VERY dark, contrasty makeup”. My original hope had been to talk the model into letting me use a pop of color in the crease falloff(like a deep turquoise, or a burgundy or red) but it sounds like the model is REALLY sold on it being completely monochrome. Ah well, the challenge is good for me.

    All of her “sample” photos had either harsh harsh drawn lines with NO real falloff, geometrically opaque eyeliner wings, etc. So both of my refined ideas are in line with what she wants, I think. Just not happy with either.

    Reply

    • Helena (XOXO Parisky)
      Feb 05, 2011 @ 15:33:20

      You can’t always be happy with the costumer’s idea 😦 But I know what you mean. Doesn’t an art director/photographer have any word with the makeup?
      Well, I wish you all the best! 🙂 I see a bright career in front of you 🙂

      Reply

      • dolcearia
        Feb 05, 2011 @ 15:47:37

        Eh, I’d be happy taking direction from an art directer. I think it’s weird working on this quasi-amateur level where there’s the general idea “High fashion editorial”, but there’s no real communication with anyone. I have NO clue what the wardrobe actually is, or how the hair will be worn(something like this would look bad if they plan on styling it to sit forward towards her face, but would be awesome if the stylist wanted to put her hair up, and tease the crown.) I have no clue what the props and set will actually be, or else I’d be using feedback from all of those things to plan the look(which probably would be the actual artistic directors job. You should see the sheets of contours/ideas I sketched out following different elements of the request. I have ten sketches for this one shoot, and I’m sure the final decision WILL be made in the studio when I see the wardrobe and talk to the hair stylist(I’m supposed to work first. I guess that means that she can take feedback off MY work to finalize HER plan! Hah!)

        It’s just PAINFULLY uncoordinated to my overly-retentive-perception. So that just makes me pretty insecure about the whole thing. I can’t continue testing tomorrow because i have a different shoot. Otherwise I WOULD totally cram all my looks in until I have as clear an idea as I can get. Today’s two looks were two of…. several sketches, and several different attempts I decided would be difficult to do without using lots of metallic colors that the camera would likely hate. My eyes are downright sore from the removal of all that!

  3. Phyrra
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 17:47:41

    Fun!

    Reply

  4. spidergirl
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 00:08:32

    Quite experimental! I loved it whatsoever!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 03:50:59

      I do like this one a bit better. Still not entirely sold on the colors/concept/blending. My other possible idea was just a VERY rich, opaque lower lid, with a softer falloff. It sounds like with the hair stylists plans, that wouldn’t quite mesh though.

      Decisions, Decisions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

