Review: Hard Candy Intergalactic

Intergalactic is a stunning blackened bronze base, with vibrant coppery bronze glitter.  I’ve also reviewed Supernova, and Asteroid, from this line of colors.  This is a surprisingly utilitarian shade—it’s STUNNING as liner, can be applied wet on the lids for dramatic smoky eyes, or brushed on dry for a more natural less glittery contour.  The glitter doesn’t adhere QUITE as strongly as I would like, but it is definitely visible.  Applied wet, the base appears to have a slightly metallic sheen.

I didn’t encounter any wear issues.  That’s good, since it definitely IS $6 packaging.  It feels flimsy and I wouldn’t trust it in my purse for touch-ups.

I found the best technique for making the glitter stick was to apply it wet, and then, use your damp brush to pat more product over top before it dries down.  There is some fallout during a dry application, mostly in glitter.  It’s quite manageable if you use a slightly damp brush to apply.

The pan itself is HUGE-I have blushes smaller than this eyeshadow!  Well worth the $6.

Here it is on the eye, blended out slightly with more dry product.

And here’s swatches(dry and wet) and product photos!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. callie
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 00:24:58

    So pretty in the package but very “meh” in reality. Dislike. Maybe over pixie epoxy?

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 11, 2011 @ 08:49:12

      I do sort of wish the glitter was more of a finer shimmer, rather than actual cosmetic glitter, because I think it would show up more. Asteroid definitely has the best formula in the line, but this one was definitely a more wearable shade. I’ve had decent results using it, though it’s not my favorite. I didn’t care for the base over PE—the glitter stuck, but the base was a bit more difficult to blend out.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:15:36

    Aw jeez, I love rich browns…. Thanks for the review!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:52:40

      Hehe, when I bought it, I thought “I wonder if Susan has seen this, or used it wet as liner?” I’ve been hearing decent things about Hard Candy for a while, but these were the first shadows to catch my eye.

      Reply

  3. Susan
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 12:46:00

    Awww….. : )

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 11, 2011 @ 12:48:04

      I did another look with it today(not yet posted, I’ll finish inserting images and post it later). I used it dry, in the crease, with some burgundy and gold tones. It’s definitely a pretty color, as coppery bronzes go!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

