Review: MAC Fluidline in Waveline

I’ve been hearing raves about MAC Fluidline Gel Liners for years.  This is my first one.  I have mixed feelings.  Overall, I prefer the colors and consistency of Buxom Lashliner.  Waveline wore very well, but had a tendency to sheer out in application, and didn’t smudge evenly.

Waveline is a rich blue-violet.  It has a glossy finish, but no actual shimmer or sparkle.  It sells for $14.50(I recall).

I like the range of colors, and the long wear(I had NO issues with it smudging, or running, even in light rain).

Still, I found myself applying two or more layers to get an opaque effect out of it.  Apply one layer, let it set, apply the second one, and then smudge.

That’s still more fussing than I generally want out of my gel liners.  I definitely wouldn’t use it for complex eyeliner wings, or things that are difficult to apply that second coat exactly over.

I like the use and wear of Sephora Cream Eyeliners, and Buxom Lashliners better, but they don’t have quite the color range of that glossy, deep finish.  If you HAVE to have this color(it’s slightly more violet than many of the Navy eyeliners I’ve seen, and VERY pretty) then it may be worth the fussy application.  I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing.

 

here’s product photos and swatches!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phyrra
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 07:19:38

    Hm, I’ve never had a problem with it going on opaque. I have had to fiddle with Blacktrack a bit to make it as opaque as I like.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 08:52:17

      Really? Now I wonder if I had a bad batch. The consistency seemed fine, but it just sheered out WAY too much in use. I doubt I’ll be going back to buy any more colors of this.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 09:05:16

    Thanks for the review. I’d been considering it. I have Macro Violet and have to agree about the translucency. Not bad, but there. I’ll have to check out the Buxom liners.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 09:17:03

      I know they don’t have as many shades, but I LOVE the Buxoms. Leatherette and Blue Velvet are my two must-haves. Blue Velvet just makes my eyes POP… They smudge easily, apply opaquely. I REALLY wish they would come out with a plum shade, and a brown with less henna-red in it. And a purple. And a deep green. Ah, screw it. I think I’d buy pretty much any actual color they put out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

