Review: Hard Candy glitter cream eyeshadow in Pool Boy

My love of all things bright and glittery is well documented.  For $5-6, the Hard Candy selection looks AWESOME!  Unfortunately, it turned out to be a miss for me.  I’ll review another shade that had texture problems, but I can no longer test the Glitter Cream eyeshadows on my eyes.   When I tried, my lids swelled, stained blue, and stung to the point where I was almost in tears just removing it.

Having tested it on my hand with no ill effects, I can say that it DOES seem to stay put pretty well, even in the face of rubbing, and the overall application is fairly seamless(though you’ll have a hard time blending eyeshadow around the edges.)   It’s a bit difficult to blend any kind of a soft falloff with existing shadow, or blend shadow over top, so I’m not entirely sure how they expect it to be used.  I plan to use it for doing bright detailing elsewhere on my face, since it’s only my eyes it hurts.

Pool boy is a rich turquoise sparkle with bright blue and gold sparkles.  It really IS a lovely color—but it STAINS the lid fiercely, and is a bit difficult to actually USE, even if you don’t have allergic reactions.  It applies with a doe-foot applicator, and the product is thick enough that you really only need one dip to get an ample amount for use.

Pool boy next to Lagoon(to be reviewed soon)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

