Fruit Punch(Eyes only)

There are so many things wrong with this look it’s not even funny.  I did it to test a few new products, and see if I could get better wear out of my NYX eyeshadow pencils.    Good news, GREAT wear.  Bad news, my lids looked dry and leathery, especially in motion.  Further bad news, NYX glitter liner didn’t apply well at ALL because it was so thick, and the brush was VERY uneven, and had bristles sticking out at all angles.  I am NOT impressed so far.

Eyes
MAC Painterly
NYX pencil in Cottage Cheese
sugarpill Decora-outer lower lid
Sugarpill Flamepoint-by decora
Sugarpill buttercupcake-inner corner
Sugarpill Love+outer corner of lower lid
Sugarpill Tako-highlight
Sugarpill Hysteric-crease
UD 24/7 liner in Zero-lower waterline
Buxom mascara
NYX glitter liner in Hot Candy-upper lashline

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 10:46:32

    Um you’re crazy, I totally love this!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 24, 2011 @ 10:48:52

      Heh, thanks! I like the colors and it has potential… I’ve just got enough nitpicks that I think I want to redo it when I’m NOT futzing with new products. I AM a perfectionist nut though!

      Reply

      • Amy
        Feb 24, 2011 @ 10:52:45

        Oh and about the NYX glitter liners, I LOVE them and have every color! But I agree, after a few uses the brush gets super fucked up, probably from having to be pushed back into that narrow opening. The Too-Faced glitter liners are really awesome and don’t have that brush problem, but they burn my eyes so I had to stop using them. 😦

        I really like this look though!

      • dolcearia
        Feb 24, 2011 @ 11:07:57

        I just got a few colors of the glitter liner. I have the Too Faced one, and UD Heavy Metal, and its fine.

        I could expect that brush thing if I’d actually USED it before. This was a BRAND NEW liner, and the brush was ALREADY nigh unusable. I was…. not happy. I haven’t opened the others to see if they’re similar. I think I prefer the smaller glitter in TF or UD liners to the larger glitter in this. I’m trying to keep an open mind, though.

        Have you tried Hard Candy glitter liners? I don’t know how the formula compares to TF, but I can say I haven’t had bad reactions to it…. I love the pale gold one. I HATE yellow gold…..

        My biggest complaint with the NYX glitter liner is that the formula is so thick it’s hard to get an EVEN coat, and it took FOREVER to set. The glitter just wouldn’t spread and adhere evenly, it just sat in milky clumps that smudged everywhere.

        I really like this look, I’m just a bit cranky that I tried it while multitasking a few other products for review. Gotta stick with the tried-and-true products for the looks I KNOW i’ll like the colors on!

  2. spider girl
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 02:30:56

    It’s still much pretty! You’re rocking with glitter liner in this look. I myself don’t find glitter eyeliner easy to apply, I always seem to fail at it. Would appreciate if you review glitter liners from various brands and pick the best one out!

    Loved the look!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Feb 26, 2011 @ 08:38:04

      heh, I may have to do that. I love glitter liners, and it IS hard finding a nice one! I’ve tried a lot, and haven’t had too many issues(though I have issues with pencil liners in general, at least as far as glitter liner goes, I VERY much prefer the liquid ones!)

      Sadly, my FAVORITE glitter liner was a LE item from a few years back. I still haven’t duplicated the color of it, and it’s hard to explain exactly how gorgeous it is.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

