Rosebud

That is the lipsticks name, but it has caused theopening of Citizen Kane to stick in my head all day.  WE visited with the in-laws today, so I opted for something neutral.   Testing a LOT of new neutral shadows for use in shoots.

Eyes

UDPP

YABY #509 Old Barn-crease and outer corner

YABY #172 The Mauve-middle of lower lid

La Femme Bisque-highlight

MAC Nylon-inner corner

UD Ink for Eyes in Demolition-lower waterline

Smashbox Jet Set liner in Starstruck-upper lashline, smudging

Diorshow mascara in Chestnut brown

Cheeks

MUFE #14 cream blush

Lips

NYX Rose Bud

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 20:04:04

    OMG, I love the name “Old Barn”!! That would suit me. What company is YABY? Pretty look!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 07, 2011 @ 03:06:39

      YABY is a MUArtist line. I’m trying to remember who the founder is…. she’s a professional MUA who designed YABY cosmetics to be used for those purposes. The ES is CHEAP(3.99 a color, or in HUGE palettes with maybe 50 shades). The pans are a wee bit smaller than a dime. It can help minimize how much you carry out to shoots. Plus, it’s easy and cheap to replace colors as you go. They have MASSIVE varieties of colors, and products. I want to try their foundation next, after I’ve given my new Graftobians a squint.

      It’s not a well known brand outside of MU conventions/shows(like IMATS, or The Makeup Show), if you aren’t spending a lot of time searching for makeup specifically for professional MU work. I heard about it from another MUA, and just never got around to buying some, until my PRO discount with CRC came through.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 09:20:04

    Thanks. I see that I am the amateur that I am…I’m no MUA or professional. But I do appreciate you showing us what’s out there!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 07, 2011 @ 10:04:20

      That’s not what I’m saying at all! I’m sure you have more shooting experience under your belt than I do. I’m just commenting that it’s not available retail, it’s not an online darling like Sugarpill or Fyrinnae…. You’d really have to be searching fairly deeply to stumble onto it, if you aren’t a very regular lurker on professional forums! It hasn’t gotten a wide consumer base, possibly because people who would use it for daily wear would probably want different things out of it than Print makeup artists. Smaller palettes, larger product pans, etc.

      Reply

  3. Susan
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 11:54:05

    No,no; I completely got what you ment. I didn’t mean…well, I just ment I don’t know it all! LOL. : ) I love it that you DO know more than I do…oh jeez, this is a can of worms. Just know I appreciate you and your knowledge!
    Yeah, I’d rather have the mass consumer based stuff (with cool names like Old Barn ; ) )

    LOVE YOU!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 07, 2011 @ 12:02:39

      heh. I LOVE people who know more than I do. It’s more fun picking their brains. I’m glad there’s no hard feelings or anything…. I reread what I wrote and was like “Oh god, was I being condescending?” I think I’ve still been in lecture mode, from working on other posts, and I generally write my review four times verbally in comments, to friends, to boyfriend, before I EVER feel I’ve tested the product enough to compose a full review here. I’m VERY bad at thinking out loud, so I do shift into random lectures, unless told not to.

      Reply

  4. Susan
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 12:08:40

    Yup, you gotta pick people who know more than you do to learn anything. Well, mostly. I do learn occasionally (LOL) from my mistakes, i.e. remove lens cap!

    You weren’t condescending at all; “just stating the facts, Mam”. Just as it should be.

    I think you are very brave to “put yourself out there” on the internet. I only want kindness and fun. You are that!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 07, 2011 @ 12:25:20

      Ahahaha. I’m guilty of the lens cap thing too.

      Fairly soon, I need to get off my tail to contact the local talent agencies. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get a gig assisting one of their artists. Learn a lot, and get a little bit of a good reputation for when I think my own portfolio is good, and complete, enough to start submitting. Right now, I’ve taken the Complacency cap off, and put the “You’ll never know if you don’t start researching/experimenting NOW”. It has been a bit of a blur, all of the research and testing I’ve been doing the past few weeks.

      Overall, I think I’m doing fairly well, though. Adjusting, anyways….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

