Familiar Taste of Poison

I think I’m getting better at green and purple looks.  Best yet?  I even photographed a tutorial for this. I know, I say that a lot.  Half hte time I don’t end up posting it. I feel like the combinations I do while photographing tutorials are lackluster, and not particularly useful to people. I have at least four photographed but unposted tutorials sitting on my computer.  I actually LIKE this one, though!  (About the title- YES, I listen to pretty much anything. I love dramatic ballad style rock.  And I think my last tutorials have all exploited my classical music nerdery.  My other option for naming this was  “Gnossienne”(A green dance form repopularized during the Impressionist music era) or Vivace(Full of Life—usually a stylistic notation)


Eyes
Sugarpill Absinthe-apply wet to lower lid
Sugarpill Poison Plum-crease
Sugarpill Tako-highlight
Sugarpill Tipsy-outer half of lower lid
Sugarpill RoyalSugar-outer corner(THINLY)
Sugarpill Goldilucks-inner corner
Sugarpill Stella-outer corner of crease
Cargo lash activator and buxom mascara
Buxom lashliner-upper lashline and lower waterline
NYX Gold glitter liner-inner upper and lower lashline

Cheeks

Cargo Key Largo blush

Lips

MAC Neo Orange pigment, mixed with Illamasqua Intense Lipgloss in Mistress

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 13:49:26

    Oh! I love this one! The sparkle in the inner corner is the icing on the cake. I love the green blended to blue colors and what I liked best – the first image of your whole face that looks so happy! I LOVE that one. : )

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 07, 2011 @ 14:08:30

      Heh. I DO have a fairly cranky default expression. I almost always look like I’m in a bad mood. I’m usually happy, though. I just dislike the act of smiling, particularly on camera.

      I was REALLY happy with how this came out. I finally got the tutorial up, and am pleased. I think I usually do simpler looks for tutorials, so you don’t get as many of the quick brush switches, bare brush blending, etc. that I use for my best and most complex works. I don’t think I’ve ever done a tutorial that was really a fair representation of my usual routine!

      I just wish the glitter liner SET properly. It ended up in the crease as well, and it doesn’t look “bad” but it bugs me.

      Reply

  2. Leila
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 16:02:24

    LOVE the look and the orange lips!

    Reply

  3. Kaelee
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 16:25:49

    UGH! Woman, this is so amazing!! As if I needed any more reasons to buy the Sugarpill Chromalusts!! Haha ❤

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 21, 2011 @ 16:37:10

      hehehe, thanks! I’m due for another Sugarpill order myself. Debating Tiara, Bulletproof, and the full size of Goldilux(I have a sample baggie, but would probably use it more on shoots if I could carry it in my kit). They’re great!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

