Failed experiment(eyes only)

Hey, botched techniques  have got to be posted too, right? I’m still not thrilled with NYX eye pencils, and wanted to try another variation to make it wear longer. I dusted finishing powder over my lid before applying to neutralize my skins oil and prevent it from creasing. The bad news is, it made it MUCH harder to apply eyeshadow over the cream! And it made the eyeshadow STAIN. POssibly the full crappiness of this look doesn’t come through as much–but you can see the crease falloff didn’t blend at all, and the colors are streaky. This is the ONLY primer  technique I have EVER seen make my lovely sugarpills wimp out like chidrens costume makeup! I’ve had better application over my bare lid! Sigh.  It didn’t crease though, right?  I’m rapidly concluding that NYX pencils are more trouble than they are worth. I’ve tried to keep an open mind, and experiment, though…

Eyes

Dust Camera Ready Cosmetics oil-control powder over lid adn blend thoroughly into skin

NYX Cottage Cheese eye pencil-lower lid, buff into skin with a bare brush or finger for an even coat

Sugarpill Poison Plum-outer corner

Sugarpill Dollypop-middle of lid

Sugarpill Flamepoint-inner corner

Sugarpill Tako-highlight

Sugarpill Buttercupcake-above crease to soften

UD 24/7 liner in Zero-lower waterline

GOGO mascara

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 12:14:41

    I’m still curious about the NYX pencils … although I don’t know how I feel about a beauty product named “cottage cheese” haha gross!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 10, 2011 @ 12:24:05

      Don’t they have Yogurt as well?

      The name kind of skeeved me out as well.

      Yeah, I’m glad I got them on a good sale. It’s SOOOO much more worth it to just buy MUFE Aqua creams. Better wear, application, similar finishes, lots of colors…. I’ve had a headache trying to review the NYX pencils with an open mind. We’ll see how nasty I get when I write it!

      I want to try this look with my normal primers— I love the colors, adn I think it has potential!

      Reply

      • Sam
        Mar 13, 2011 @ 09:10:55

        That’s so weird to me because I just bought some NYX eye pencils and I love them. They don’t crease and I can wear my eyeshadow all day! Maybe you’re using too much of the product? I’ve personally found that it’s best to just apply a little bit and then smudge it all over the lid. I also found that as a highlight and inner corner highlight, Milk works amazingly.

        Anyway, maybe that will help, maybe not!

      • dolcearia
        Mar 13, 2011 @ 09:17:14

        I think it has more to do with skin type. Even though my skin is only SLIGHTLY oily, I think it tends to concentrate more on my eyelids than my T zone, where most people notice shininess.. Most primers don’t melt off me(I have a friend who can’t even WEAR UDPP). I’ve had issues with cream eyeshadows though. The revlon cream eyeshadows, buxom cream eyeshadows, NYX pencils ALLL crease on me. Really the only cream eyeshadows that DON’T are MUFE Aqua creams, MAC paintpots, and thin layers of UDPP.

        It may be a better product on other people-I haven’t gotten teh courage to test it on clients, because the results have been so BAD on myself.

      • Sam
        Mar 13, 2011 @ 11:41:02

        Well, that’s cool that you’re giving them away! It sucks that they don’t work for you, but I’m sure there are tons of other products that will 🙂

      • dolcearia
        Mar 13, 2011 @ 11:51:03

        Yep. I’ll survive with my stockpile of MUFE Aqua creams! hehehehe.

  2. spider girl
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 12:51:55

    I won’t consider it a fail since it’s still pretty for me! One thing though: are NYX pencils that bad to work with? What about UD 24/7 shadow pencils?

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 11, 2011 @ 13:03:12

      I haven’t tried the UD pencils yet. Been meaning to, thought i bought one, discovered I apparently hadn’t when the order came. BloggerFAIL.

      I haven’t liked the NYX pencils. They crease, even under more standard primers, which is why I tried this. I’ve had my best luck layering them over a REALLLLY dry primer like MAC Paintpots, but that causes my lid to feel unbearably dry and itchy, and to look rather crepe-y. I’ve tried keeping an open mind, but every experiment with them has gone badly.

      Reply

    • Sam
      Mar 13, 2011 @ 09:26:15

      Hmm… That sounds understandable. Have you tried any of them as just a highlight? That’s my favourite way to use them (I’ve only got two, though).

      Anyway, I still prefer the Mac paintpots… But have you tried the Nyx ones just on their own, as a base? That might work (or might be worse, I dunno, that’s just how I use them and I always thought I had oily lids). I will say that it’s interesting to see someone talk about the jumbo eye pencils and not like them (seems like every review is a positive one), so it’s nice to see the other side. There is no product that will work for every person…

      Reply

      • dolcearia
        Mar 13, 2011 @ 10:25:32

        It is pretty fascinating! They’re OK on the highlight-no creasing, but they DO smear. I vastly prefer Benefit High Beams(my favorite cheek highlighter) on the browbone and inner lower lashline, for that effect. I definitely wouldn’t advocate buying the product for that use alone.

        I have five pencils. Black Bean, Cottage CHeese, Lime, a bronze, a purple, a blue…. I’ve included the other ones that I bought, but didn’t open, in an upcoming giveaway, since it seems so many people DO like them! They deserve a good home and there’s no point to me opening a product that I know wont work on me.

        I’ve done looks with NYX On their own, NYX over UDPP, NYX over Paintpot, NYX over improvised primers(setting powder to take off the oil, concealer, etc.) It won’t crease over paintpot, but the heaviness just makes me lid look crepey and feel itchy and dry.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

