Review: Tarte blush/bronzer in Hotel Heiress

Usually I tend to think tarte products are a bit expensive, for my taste. I gave in and got a few of the lip stains, during their Friends and Family sale months back. They included a miniature size of Hotel Heiress.  It has been sitting there for MONTHS waiting for me to write a review.  That’s not a good sign.

Hotel Heiress is a medium-brown with some rosy tones, and a subtle sparkle Sephora describes it as a deep bronze shimmer.  It’s a bit rosier than a true bronze, though.

I like the color of it, and it ought to be a nice shade for pale/medium skin with cool undertones to use as a bronzer.  Unfortunately, it is so HARD to get any workable pigment out of it, that I hate using it.  Barely any product seems to adhere to the brush, and I layer and layer and STILL can’t see it on my face.  Even rubbing it with a finger for swatches, which usually yields far more product than you need in practice, barely turns up a noticeable amount.  This shade is slightly pinker than NARS laguna, better for a blush.  But if you’re buying a high end blush/contour product, I’d have to say get Laguna instead.  You’ll be MUCH happier with it!  There’s no way I’d recommend you pay $29 for this.  I’m glad I only have a sample!

(not quite as blue as it appears in this photo, but this does show the cool undertone better)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Olivia
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 11:38:00

    don’t you hate when products do give the payoff your want..specially higher price products!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Mar 11, 2011 @ 11:41:46

      Yeah, it’s disappointing. This one shocked me with how difficult to work with it was! I’ve been trying for months to get good results out of it, with very little to show for it!

      I mean, I keep an open mind, and spend a LOT of time thinking of new techniques to try, or altering my technique to change things… Nothing worked on this though. Not applying it before applying setting powder, Not using different brushes…. nothing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

