Alien Design for boyfriend(first attempt)

Long story.  Basically, the boyfriend asked me to create makeup based on a character in one of his projects, for kindle publication(Just the face will be isolated, for his use). THere’ll be other graphic elements thrown in once he edits it, I’ve just been testing how to get teh makeup for what specifications he wanted.  Although I gave him an earful for writing another Blue Alien thing.  Seriously?  Lavender, Sage, or bright, nauceous FUCHSIA?!  So much less over-used.

Cover the brows with Ben Nye white mascara, before applying blue skin and eyeshadow.  This was done with MUFE Blue and White flash creams, Sugarpill Lumi, Afterparty, Tako, Magpie, and Royal sugar, OCC Saturate and Static,  Mehron liquid latex(Applied, and then torn to give texture), and OCC Rx Lip tar applied, then blotted off.  (Unfortunately, it STAINED the chapped portions of my lip a lot, so it was still far stronger than the intended effect I wanted)

Sun went down, I couldn’t see well enough to finish it, so I photographed it “as is” and figured it’s a starting point for me to figure out where I want to go different, next time.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 11:32:43

    Ooh! Hmm, what about using silver mascara? (perhaps using silver pigment + the mascara mixing medium)

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 11:45:09

      I thought about that—I have the white mascara, it would be easy to just dust some pigment on while it was wet. In the end, though, I think I just prefer normal black lashes, particularly with the REALLY dark smoky eyes. THere’s enough contrasts and textures to the skin to make me wary of incorporating too many more elements, since the boyfriend would be adding still MORE later. I did a shoot a ways back using different colors on the lashes, and it’s just not a concept that thrills me as much.

      Reply

      • Elizabeth
        Apr 03, 2011 @ 12:15:43

        That makes sense! Will you be able to show us the version after your boyfriend edits it? I bet it will look really cool!

      • dolcearia
        Apr 03, 2011 @ 12:24:04

        Oh, of course! I mean, it may not be for a few months yet. I think I’ll want a few more trials, and he’s still serially publishing segments of the story it is used for(The whole thing will be gathered when he’s done, edited, and published in e-book format. ). This is just a component of his eventual plan for the cover art. Of course, he’s vague as fog when it comes to critiquing things, so I haven’t really gotten any feedback from him other than “hunh.” or a vague “that sounds good” when I comment on things I thought I might try changing. The description I had to go on for it was “blue skin, don’t care what shade, lots of birthmarks and texture. Asymmetry is your friend”. I’ve got a PILE of sketches that I haven’t used, at any given time, so I just adapted one and said “Eh, if he wants something different, he’ll probably know AFTER he sees it”.

  2. Anna Lee
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 18:03:08

    This is AWESOME! 😀 I mean, that is amazing! I can’t believe how freaking cool that is!!

    Reply

  3. mytigerlily
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 18:59:28

    Oh this turned out really nice!!! That’s so awesome that your bf is writing a book, I would be interested in hearing about it when it’s finishedd :]

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Apr 05, 2011 @ 23:28:34

      He’s talented. He was weened on Graphic Novels, so he tends to write with a very visual style in mind, and a terse narrative tone. Sometimes he can get CRAZY weird in his subject matter(We routinely have gross-out competitions, and he ALWAYS wins.)

      I adore him! Still gotta work on this, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

