Review: Smashbox Iconic Eyes palette

Well, at least it’s only 12$ at Sephora.  That said, it isn’t even worth THAT, in my opinion.

This set includes a bronze, a pale pink, a peach, and a navy.  Don’t ask me why they paired a navy with the other colors-it’s difficult to work it into looks, and doesn’t blend well with the other colors.  All of them are powdery, incredibly sheer, and don’t adhere evenly.  After layering and blending, this is the best result I could get out of the palette.

As you can see, the blending evened out by layering it, but there’s hardly any depth to the color, even over a sticky primer.  And can you tell where I actually used blue eyeshadow?  Hint-it’s not on the lower waterline/lashline.  And can you tell that I used both the peach, and the pink?  They look EXACTLY alike, because of the sheerness.

I tried to swatch them on my hand, and they wouldn’t even adhere. I had to use a sticky primer to even get them to show up.  I can’t recall the last time I saw an eyeshadow with a texture this bad.  Seriously, if you want a cheap daytime palette, try Stila’s “It Girl” palette.  It still has a few quality issues, but you will be able to get a FAR better range of effects out of it, WITHOUT spending three times as long blending and layering colors to prevent streaky application.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    May 23, 2011 @ 13:55:00

    Oh, I’m so glad you posted this. I was sooo tempted to get this (cheap) palette. I figured I’d think up somehow to use the navy. Yay, I saved some $.

    AND I was tempted for the It Girl palette. But the sparkle from Stila is too much for me… : ( I did get some Stila products at – COSTCO! I plan breaking up the package of goodies and giving what I don’t want to my daughter.

    Thank you again!!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      May 23, 2011 @ 14:52:53

      Oh goodness! I can think of several better navies, off the top of my head! I’m glad the review was helpful for you.

      I think I’ve seen some smashbox and stila sets at cosco before. Never actually purchased. That sounds like a good system though! I think the pans in the It Girl palette may be magnetic–if they are, you could buy it, remove Eve, and give the other two shades to your daughter! Either way, there’s DEFINITELY better options than this. I was SO disappointed in it!

      Reply

  2. Phyrra
    May 23, 2011 @ 19:28:31

    Good to know that it’s not a good palette.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

