Updates for thepaintedmask

Move date has come and gone, we are all settled in the new house, so it was time to take down the old update!

Thepaintedmask will be seeing some changes, soon. For one thing, I’ll probably be updating less frequently. Between a 40 hour work week, and hours more spent on shoots, and arranging for shoots, daily EOTDs and reviews may be overly optimistic. My pocketbook can’t sustain that expense anymore, and my make up area is still nonexistent, in the new house. I can’t find consistent lighting, or space to set my products up. It has been…. frustrating….. Add a pile of overwork and tendinitis in my wrists, and you have a recipe for a VERY cranky beauty nerd.

Thepaintedmask may also soon be changing its home! I’m in the process of setting up a section of my professional website to host the blog. WordPress and I have had our disagreements, and purchasing space for all of the makeup photos has gotten EXPENSIVE! This page will remain open for archives, but the new material will have a new home, as soon as I finish setting it up!

We can probably expect to see thepaintedmask updating with at least two looks, and two reviews a week. I’ll try to do more, but that should be the minimum, from here on out.

Wish me luck getting settled in my new home, and finding an area that doesn’t totally fray my nerves to set up makeup! In the meantime, we’ll find other things for thepaintedmask, including an upcoming giveaway, placement sketches, and breakdowns of makeup for photoshoots.

Thanks for your patience.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ana
    May 29, 2011 @ 10:01:12

    I wish you all the best! You deserve only the best!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      May 29, 2011 @ 10:15:44

      You’re too sweet! I feel bad for falling so out of touch with the blog, and everyone…. It’s odd to be living makeup with so little to show for it! I’m sure eventually this hard work will get somewhere…. It just feels brutal right now. I’d kill to be able to hand write a single sentence without having to stop for three different “cramp breaks” to massage mobility back into my hands.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    May 29, 2011 @ 10:09:11

    Ana said it before I did! I wish you all the best and you deserve it! Good luck with all the new happenings going on.
    ❤ Susan

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      May 29, 2011 @ 10:19:44

      Thanks. It has been a ROLLER COASTER lately. I’m sure it’ll even out. It just won’t happen for a while though.

      I’m trying frantically to figure out solutions so that I can have a comfortable spot to do makeup with as little pain as possible. I fell in LOVE with a v intage library card catalog at the local vintage store, but it’s 400(I think?). SOOOO many tiny drawers, perfect for cosmetics, shallow enough that I won’t be digging for things, wide enough for my overstock of false lashes adn such….. high enough that it would be PERFECT for bending over to support my elbow on the counter…. I’m in love with it. I just can’t spare the money for it. I’m wondering if I can try to talk teh boyfriend into chipping in, as an early birthday gift. We’re two months away, still, but I’ll go INSANE if I have to do my makeup with NOWHERE to balance my elbow, because the bathroom has a pedestal sink, tripping over train cases full of cosmetics, because there’s no where to set them within reach, so I have to pull them down from high shelves before I can use them, which hurts my wrists even more…..

      It has been a BATTLE. I’d be happy to be shooting daily, because it’s so much less stressful than trying to put it on myself in this situation. And I won’t even get into trying to photograph it!

      Reply

  3. Skulda
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 15:29:12

    I used to get tendinitis in both wrists and occasionally get a flare up. I know that dull ache all too well. 😦 I hope you feel better soon.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 09, 2011 @ 15:33:39

      Sorry to hear that! I started noticing it when I was about 12, but it has gotten progressively worse, in spurts.

      This week I’ve been having difficulties closing my hands around brushes, or pencils. I can’t hand-write a sentence without pauses to massage the spasms out.

      Tendinitis is SOO disruptive! My boyfriend had a minor flare-up of it once, and it as bad enough that he STILL gives me that look-of-pity when I massage my hands. I feel bad, since I have time and energy to work on posting, but even typing wears me out, after a time. I can barely cook, handle buttons, zippers, etc. I’m glad I have few shoots this week, and I’m crossing my fingers that it will stop flaring up by the time I hit next weeks shoots!

      I’m sure it’ll be manageable in a week or so… it has just been flaring up frequently enough with the shoots, and moving, etc. that it has completely shattered my makeup routine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

