silver and turquoise

I’ve had this color scheme in my head a lot, since I’ve been helping select wardrobe for a shoot, using 70s colors and patterns. It’s fairly wearable, considering how bright the colors I picked are.  I just blended a LOT to sheer them out, adn keep the densest deposits right by the crease.

Eyes
UDPP in Sin
NARS Dogon-black-outer corner into crease
NARS Dogon-taupe-blend above crease/highlight LIGHTLY
Sugarpill Lumi-apply wet to inner corner
Sugarpill Royal Sugar-apply wet to outer 1/3 of lid. Get a clean brush and lightly blend it into the center 1/3, to soften and sheer out color
Sugarpill Tiara-lightly sweep over the seam between Lumi and Royal Sugar
Sugarpill Hysteric-above crease
UD 24/7 liner in Zero-lower waterline
Layer cargo lash activator and buxom mascara

Cheeks
MAC Azalia blossom

Lips
NARS Sayonara lip stain
NARS Turkish Delight lip gloss.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ana
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 10:49:36

    Lovely! I wish I could wear silver so well on my pale complexion 😦 You look awesome in silver 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 04, 2011 @ 15:46:34

      Thanks! The trick is in knowing how to use it. Even if a color isn’t naturally flattering on your complexion, if you pair it with colors that ARE, you can blend it to something that DOES work. My skin is pretty neutral, so I can wear silver and gold, when paired right. I can even figure out things with pure banana or mustard yellow, in a pinch. This look would be pretty wearable, because the silver is VERY faint, over that seam. THe majority of the color is actually a teal duochrome! You could easily use a more flattering color for warmer tones(like MAC Nylon, a cream color with a pale gold pearl) to help prevent it from getting too cool on your skin.

      I don’t wear metallic colors that often, and I reach for gold more often, because it flatters my eyes more. But if you know how to use them, they make great accents!

      Reply

  2. msmadamemakeup
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 16:40:57

    so pretty! love it! x

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 04, 2011 @ 17:49:04

      Thank you! I’ve been seeing a lot of the sea-foam and sage colors lately, and that sort of pastel vibrancy just felt right today. Matched the dress, too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

