Bright summer cateye!

Inspired by Dior’s summer 2011 makeup. I LOVE the trend for a flat bright lid, with a cateye.
See?

And here’s mine.

I used the Givenchy Acid Lights palette.  For clarity on colors, here’s a quickie diagram

Apply #4 wet to the lower lid, soften the seam with #1, apply #5 as a highlight.  Apply Buxom Lashliner in Blue Velvet to upper lashline and lower waterline, winging out at outer corner.  Use your mascara of choice to finish(Buxom Amplified)

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. curiouskumquat
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:04:40

    Those colors are majorly disappointing in my opinion. I wish they were brighter, I would have been sold on it. The concept is so cute though, I can’t wait to try it out when I go to Vegas next week!

    Reply

  2. curiouskumquat
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:05:50

    I am disappointed in how the palette performs. It’s such a tease for bright and bold colors, but they come up short. I love the concept of a bright cat eye though.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:14:01

      Eh, I agree the colors don’t live up to the packaging in pan, and the name, but I DO love them for what they are. Sometimes, a pastel look is a bit more appropriate. I’m still testing them out, though. I did this look as part of my experimentation, to see how they work wet.

      For bright colors, have you seen Sugarpill? You get a lot of product, pretty cheaply, and the colors are even brighter than this! I am hoping they introduce more shades, since they don’t have as many of the “medium” shades, like the peach, or the copper. Fyrinnae also has nice brights, and if you press them, many of them have a similar dewy finish as these colors, but I think their website has been down for quite some time.

      Reply

  3. Ana
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 10:44:34

    Thanks for so easy-to-follow tutorial! Love the trend 🙂

    Reply

  4. Phyrra
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 12:20:44

    Hot look. I think a bright coral like that is fabulous.

    Reply

  5. NeenaJ
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 12:59:30

    Dior’s used almost a reverse cut-crease application. I think it’s a really modern approach. Then, you take your look a step further in terms of wearability by blending out the crease with a softer color and lightening up the palette. Looks great!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Jun 17, 2011 @ 13:19:23

      Yep, I’d happily wear the actual style, but it’s just not as practical for daily use as many other makeup trends. I thought doing it this way would preserve the spirit of the look, while making it a bit more accessible. You know I’m not one to shy away from bright colors and strong looks….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

