Review: The Balm lipstick in Classified

I mainly bought this for the packaging, as a prop for a shoot. Classified is a nice sort of russet peach-perfect as a peach for cool skin tones, but DEFINITELY not neutral. You’ll want a warmer gloss, if you have yellow undertones.

The outer packaging feels a bit fragile–it’s paper, and seems to need a bit of force to slide on and off the cap.

I was a bit iffy on the formula-it wore acceptably, about 4-5 hours, no feathering, but I absolutely HATED the taste. It went on with minimal fragrance just a slight chemical taste, but about five minutes after application, the flavor and sting of mint oil got to be overwhelming. Mint is great for making our breath a little cleaner, and plumping lips. I just have a pet peeve with it in cosmetic formulas, because I hate the taste. Whether this is a drawback depends totally on your own opinion.

Overall, I doubt I’ll buy any other The Balm lipstick shades-there’s some nice ones in the range, but I dislike the taste and smell enough to prefer other alternatives. For only a few dollars more, I’d rather have a tasteless MUFE Rouge Artist Intense lipstick.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 252 other followers

