odds and ends(Again)

Sorry for the lack of posts, everyone. ANOTHER relative had a heart attack. Second, in a month. UGH! He’s fine, but everything has been REALLLLLLLLLY stressful since then.

I just got done reorganizing the makeup I take out on shoots though it’s still only a fraction of my total makeup, since I’ve weeded out many of my bright pigments, and all of the eyeliners, foundations, etc. that are for my personal use. Still, I was in shock how fast it filled up my new container. There’s also panels on the lid that store my eyeliner right now! Yay!

The bottom has three plastic trays, containing my MUFE Aqua Creams, Flash Cream palette, Givenchy foundations, Sugarpill, Urban Decay, and Stila eyeshadow palettes, Graftobian powder foundations, blush, highlighters, etc.

This does not include the cloth container I store my brushes, lipstick, foundation, and eyeshadow palettes in. This is just the loose pieces!

Anyways, here’s a quick EOTD. It’s the ONLY makeup I’ve worn in weeks. One of the MUA’s in my area has been kind enough to talk with me about my work, and offered me some products she no longer uses. So I’ve been testing out a bunch of new things. She gave me quite a few shiseido and Benefit eyeshadows, and a range of other things. I feel bad I haven’t been able to test them more, since they seem to be quite fun, and I have comparatively few pastel colors.

Hopefully I’ll have some new stuff to show soon!  Life has been crazy lately, between family issues, lots of shoots, computer problems, work problems, and an insane stress level.  I haven’t been fit for human company.

 

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 12:06:19

    Sorry about all your upsets. Hope all is smooth from here on out. You just did a beautiful look. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 27, 2011 @ 14:42:32

      Thanks. It has been a mess, and I don’t think it’s over yet. When the boyfriends dad was hospitalized, it was a matter of being there to help him while he recovered, and hug the boyfriend while he kept a stoic face. With one of my own relatives hospitalized, it unearths enough drama that even a simple “I love you and am thinking of you” phone call is enough for days of panic attacks, lots of cloak and dagger efforts to hide my contact information to avoid dealing with other relatives…. The crazy tends to run in my family, and I’ve made a HUGE effort to avoid it. It’s incredibly draining, and quite depressing.

      I feel bad for being so scattered, but it’s all I can do to hold my head on straight. For some reason, I only want to wear makeup when I’m ALREADY happy and confident. When I’m already sad and depressive, it just makes me feel even more false, and isolated. Thank goodness I’ve had plenty of other people to put it on!

      Sadly, I doubt I’ll have any fun new things to post for at least a week. Got two shoots this week, plus I’m heading up to Seattle to assist a really talented stylist on another shoot. It’s quite exciting. And hopefully, the distance will be quite energizing, and I’ll learn a lot from watching her.

      Still, I don’t like my life being this crazy. Hopefully, this phase will pass, and I’ll go back to normal. Sigh.

      Reply

  2. Susan
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 16:33:59

    Well, if I lived in Seattle, I’d give you a big hug and photo you APPLYING the make up to the model! (And stay out of the hired guy’s way!). Sorry about all the drama. Hold your head above the water and keep breathing! : )

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 28, 2011 @ 01:57:15

      Eh, I have the easy part. I won’t be applying makeup, just watching for touch-ups and cleaning equipment. It’ll be different and relaxing, though. I’m particularly hoping to learn from how she styles their hair. I need to work on that.

      Reply

  3. Ana
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 04:22:06

    I’ve always wanted to see your makeup stash, and it’s so well organized as I can see 🙂 Love the look, too! I always do love greens and blues combos on eyes!

    Hopefully everything is fine now. All the best!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 29, 2011 @ 10:40:06

      I have so much I HAVE to organize it—this bag, and the padded bag with my palettes are all of my makeup for shoots. I tend to take REALLLLLLLLLLLLY strict care with the transportation, organization, and sanitation for it. My personal makeup is a wee bit messier—I have three train cases of Indie co. Pigments that I wouldn’t end up using often enough on set to merit bringing, lip products and eyeliners for personal use, and eyeshadows that I’m still trying to review, to decide whether it’s worth adding to my kit, samples of products, and about ten different mascaras that I’ve(Also) been meaning to review. I’m METICULOUS with this stuff. It’s a bit ridiculous.

      So far I do like the new case, though! It’s so much quicker to find things!

      Reply

  4. danishenanigans
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 17:02:33

    I literally saw this pictures and said aloud, “Ohhhhhhh lord.”

    My roommate now thinks I’m insane. Beautiful makeup and gorgeous EOTD!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Sep 11, 2011 @ 14:33:15

      Thanks….. It felt great organizing all of this, but still a bit disgusting considering how much I still have in my other containers! Is there a such thing as TOO much makeup?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

