Focus On:MAC Stars N Rockets

Focus On is a work in progress. Have you ever talked yourself out of buying a product because the color was too odd, and you wondered how often you would really be able to use it? Or, you know those colors you LOVE because of some hidden versatility that you never imagined when you bought it? I do that ALL of the time. In the interests of loving what I HAVE, and learning its limitations, rather than relying on the influx of new colors, I will be doing this post every Saturday, focusing on a new color from my collection, with examples of past work, ideas for other uses. Please feel free to suggest colors you wish to see, or uses for the ones listed, or let me know what your favorites are for future posts.

MAC Stars N Rockets was one of the first bright colors I tried.  A very unique color, and(IMO) a standout in MACS lineup.  Its a medium-bright purple-y fuchsia, with a violet/blue pearl.  I photographed this in  different lighting’s to try to capture the finish and base for you.  It can have a LOT of variety in its tone and use, depending on primer, brush used, patting vs. swiping, etc.  So it can be a challenge to get to know.

Layer over a dark primer, with blue shadows, for a pearly softening violet.

Pair with corals to keep the fuchsia vibrant

Apply over a lavender base to soften fuchsia and bring out blue pearl

Brushed onto an area with a dense brush, the fuchsia can be diffused, for a soft contour between blue/violet shades.  (the inner lower lashline is where I placed it in this look)

Patted over a frosty pink, it becomes a vibrant soft violet and works well for blending with more opaque pink shades.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sara
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 04:48:53

    i love love love love stars n’ rockets! its one of my staple eyeshadows hands down.

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 21, 2010 @ 16:45:20

      I love the color! I don’t always pick it up right off in practice, since usually when I wear pink, I have a “the brighter the better” mentality, and I forget about it, in the rush to grab my MUFE Fuchsia star powder, or Aqua Cream, or UD Woodstock….. The subtlety in stars n rockets makes it great fun to work with-I just have to think of more occasions when I want the effect it gives! Well, aside from my standby of using it on the inner lower lashline with other bright colors for depth…. It is SUPERB for that type of use.

      Reply

  2. pumpkincat210
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 05:03:42

    you might also like urban decay delux eyeshadow in fishnet, it is slightly more purple but a lot the same.
    Other mac duochromes you might like are:
    Parfait Amour
    Vapour
    Club
    Expensive Pink
    Tilt
    Vellum
    Motif
    Hush
    Vex

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Aug 21, 2010 @ 16:43:25

      I have expensive pink and Club-I’m starting to compile a Focus On piece on the one, and MAY do one on the other, although I rarely use browns.. I think I’ve seen the others, but felt they were too similar to some other shades in my collection to warrant the money at the time. May have to go give them another look.

      There’s also a LORAC color I’ve been thinking of–its more of a lavender base, and the pearl leans between aqua and violet-blue. I just haven’t quite gotten around to buying it and playing around.

      I’ve been trying to pick colors in my collection, to get as much use as I can before my mind moves on to other things!

      Reply

      • pumpkincat210
        Aug 21, 2010 @ 19:38:09

        club is one of my favorite colors. It creates a great smoky eye and looks good with expensive pink, shimmermoss, steamy. gorgeous gold, nylon…it looks a little strange in the pan, but is really versatile. You should do a focus on piece on club because it’s a well kept secret.

  3. dolcearia
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 20:18:25

    Will certainly do! I’ve played with it a bit, with decent results. Again, I find the brown a bit off putting, since I almost NEVER wear brown. I’m happy with it when I use it, I just need to remind myself that not every day can be candy-pink and chartreuse awesomeness….. I’ve been trying to do more neutral looks lately, and smoky eye variants. It’s been fun, but it’s definitely a bit of a chore hyping myself up for the idea of putting something that…. gasp…. QUIET….. on my face.

    I was thinking of doing Club, but I figured that everyone had probably already seen it, since browns are such an easy color for most makeup users to work into their routine! Will definitely start skimming old looks for examples, and trying to incorporate it in new ones for experimentation and contrast. And I’ll have to try it with expensive pink-the combination sounds intriguing! I’ve been trying to find more uses for expensive pink, since my favorite uses usually use it in a brighter capacity, setting off fuchsias and purples.

    Reply

    • pumpkincat210
      Aug 21, 2010 @ 21:33:28

      funny you think of club e/s as a brown. To me, it’s green!
      If you want to keep it neutral try it with woodwinked.

      Reply

      • dolcearia
        Aug 21, 2010 @ 21:53:56

        I have to admit-my favorite neutral with it is over a black base, with MAC Tempting and Urban Decay Half Baked and the like. It makes this GORGEOUS antique gold smoky eye and the shimmer takes on an olive tone….. I think I may actually be able to get that focus on up for next week if i remember to do a few looks demonstrating other techniques in the next few days….

        I don’t actually own woodwinked-my neutrals are some fairly standby UD from the BoS sets, and a few MAC Bronzes, Kid, Cork, Shale, Traxx…. I don’t use them all that often so I try to resist buying more.

        I usually think of club as a brown because if you don’t watch your application pretty closely, that is what comes out! You know how you have to apply wet, over a darker primer, pat on over a sticky primer, etc. to really make that shimmer sparkle? It requires a lot more forethought, so unless I sketch a look out in advance and plan that, I usually drift right past it doing freeform looks. I’ll definitely be playing much more in the next few days though…. it’s even my weekend!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 251 other subscribers