Technique: Working with Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy

I dithered a surprising amount about whether this ought be a review, or a tutorial. This stuff is AMAZING, but it is definitely one of the trickier products to use effectively.  For $6(or $1.50 for a sample) it’s WELL worth a little trial and error to get the technique!  But I would feel odd enclosing the amount of detail needed to work with it well, in an actual review. Plus, frequenting MUA boards and blog reviews of Fyrinnae and the product, a LOT of people complain that it isn’t working right for them.  A lot of the time, this is because they aren’t waiting long enough to apply over it, or they’re applying too much, or they’re waiting too long and it dries and loses it efficacy.  So tutorial it is!

Epoxy is marketed as a tacky base to bring out the glitter in fragile, shimmer shadows, or actual glitters.  Do NOT mistake that for calling it a primer.  If you’re wearing this for a sustained period, you’ll DEFINITELY want a “real” primer under it.  Urban Decay Primer Potion, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, MAC Paintpots, etc.  This is VERY sticky and if you use too much, or don’t use the right base, it will crease.

Applied right, your shadow will last for HOURS with incredible vibrancy.  Applied wrong, it will crease, your brushes will feel gummy or sticky, your blending will look patchy over top.  There’s definitely a learning curve to using Epoxy.  However I have NEVER seen a base this effective for preserving shadow texture and color.  This is a staple for any makeup user who loves bright, shimmery, mineral, or glittery colors.  The only thing more effective for the shimmers is applying wet(foiling) and that can alter the way you blend it, or mix in colors that can’t be applied wet.  Sometimes it’s just nice to have a product that lets you use the same technique for ALL colors, and still get the vibrancy of shadows applied wet.  Another workaround for glitters/shimmers is applying a thin layer of vaseline or chapstick to the lid and packing product in on top of it to set it. (That’s what I did, in the hazy days of my first experiments with makeup) But those are FAR more prone to creasing, and don’t keep the actual depth of the shadow quite as nicely.

You want the absolute TEENIEST amount of product that will cover your lid.  I prefer to use my finger because the tactile sense of it lets me get MUCH more sparing amounts than eyeballing it on a brush.  Apply it to the lower lid, or whole lid, depending on your preferences, and wait for it to get tacky(about 30 seconds.)  Some people prefer the full lid, so ALL the color are vibrant, but oilier lids may prefer to avoid using it around the crease, for fear of creasing.  Also, many make up users don’t wear glittery colors in the crease, where very little light reflects, and feel it’s not needed.  I prefer the full lid, but NOT the brow bone.  I like to have a strong falloff for my crease colors that extends ABOVE the crease.  So it makes more sense to just use it all over.

Apply shadows over top in layers. The first layer is just to get a denser coat in the approximate places you want your colors. This will help take the worst of the sticky out of your lid, and make it easier to blend, later The second one is to touch up seams, blend, and pack the color in over the original placement.  You WILL pack in more shadows over this than you would a normal primer.  It really grabs onto the pigment like no other!

This works well with fyrinnae’s loose eyeshadows, and other mineral makeup pigments. However, it works well with ANY shadows, if  you are prepared to pack the color in FAST, and touch up the blending after that has taken some of the stick out.  If it dries before you’re done, and you need MORE stick, just pat a slightly damp brush over it to restore more tackiness, and resume your application.

For comparison, this is Fyrinnae Parental Advisory and Kitten in Heels blended over Urban Decay Primer Potion(#1) and PROPERLY applied over Pixie Epoxy(#4).  You can see how much more of fyrinnae’s fragile sparkles and complex finish is maintained over Epoxy.

Here’s a quick summary of the problems I’ve encountered, and how to fix them.

I applied Epoxy to my lid,  but when I applied eyeshadow over top, it smeared around weirdly, and my brush is sticky and gummy.(see picture #2)

That is what happens when you apply too much Epoxy to the lid.  Best bet is to wipe it off with a clean cotton swab or rag, and start from scratch.  If you have only applied a little shadow before realizing the problem, you should be able to easily remove the shadow, and blend the Epoxy on the rest of the lid in to cover the area, for a normal, thinner coat.  Then you can reapply right away.

I applied Epoxy to my lid, and swiped shadow over top, but it looks streaky and won’t blend.(picture #2)

Well, first off, Did you wait before applying.  Epoxy feels EXACTLY like Vaseline on the lid for the first 30 seconds.  Then, it sets, and gets sticky, rather than goupy.  It’ll still be sticky, but it’ll be easier to blend shadow over once that happens.  Also—Epoxy absorbs more shadow so patting eyeshadow into place is often more effective for getting enough pigment to provide an even coat.  I recommend using patting motions for the first coat particularly.  The second coat, patting will still help keep it opaque, but once the majority of the product has been set with eyeshadow, you can use a few sweeps to blend.  Usually it’s one of those two culprits—not waiting to apply, or not applying enough shadow.

Ummmmm, it doesn’t look like it’s doing anything. I still can’t see my shimmers, and now my blending looks muddy too!(picture #3)

Poor Epoxy!  You waited so long to apply your eyeshadow, it dried up of longing!  Not to worry!  This is one of the easier fixes, and you can even revive it without dislodging the shadow you applied!  Just pat a damp brush or cotton swab(SLIGHTLY damp, mind you) over top and resume your application.  Isn’t that better?  Just make sure you PAT or it will smear!

Well, it looked pretty for the first hour, but not it’s settled into my crease.

Did you apply primer underneath Epoxy?

If the answer is no, that’s your problem right there!  Epoxy is NOT a primer on its own.  Just make sure you use a base next time and that should help!

If the answer is yes, we have a few options.

Did you clean your face before beginning application?  If you have Oily lids, that oil can prevent the primer and epoxy from setting properly.  Just make sure to wash your face, or wipe it down with toner, before applying.

Did you apply too much Epoxy?  If so, see question #1..  That CAN still cause creasing though, even if you don’t notice it being obviously too slippery during the actual application.

How many layers of shadow did you apply over Epoxy?  Epoxy may not set as nicely if you have applied thinner layers, or used only one coat of pigment.  Try patting eyeshadow on, rather than swiping, to get a more generous amount of pigment to set the epoxy.

Now onward!  To hours of amazing glitter!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helena (xoxo Parisky)
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 22:15:20

    Thank you very much for this! I had major problems with my epoxy and now
    I know that I haven’t been waiting long enough. This surely is a great tutorial! 🙂

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Nov 29, 2010 @ 22:22:21

      Let me know how it works out, waiting a bit more before applying! I know it took me a few months, at least, to get the hang of blending over Pixie Epoxy. The results were worth it, but I’ve seen SOOOO many blogs, forum posts, from makeup users who can’t figure out why it’s so fussy for them, I figured that it would help to compile my technique, and my learning process, as best I could.

      Hope it helps!

      Reply

  2. Minou
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 01:15:56

    Wow thank you, wish I had this post to guide me when I first got PE! I hope you don’t mind but I linked your tutorial to my a post on my blog that brings together all the info on PE that I find most useful for beginners :3

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 02, 2010 @ 01:46:46

      Oh, me too! It took me about two months before I felt like I got results suitable for photography, let alone suitable for wearing all day(since i have oily lids, I had a LOT of issues figuring out how to avoid letting it crease when worn more than an hour).

      Pixie Epoxy is a WONDERFUL product, but it takes a lot to learn! I’m all in favor of making that task easier, where it happens. Do you have the link to the post you mentioned? I wonder if I can pick any other techniques up from it.

      Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 02, 2010 @ 18:04:03

      Thanks for the link. I’d seen a few of the posts you linked to…. Definitely some new information there though. That looks like a nice resource.

      Reply

  3. La Principessa
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 01:28:51

    Thanks for this! Sending it to my friend who has recently been introduced to the wonderful world of Fyrinnae!

    Reply

    • dolcearia
      Dec 02, 2010 @ 01:49:41

      Glad you enjoyed it, and I hope it helps your friend! Fyrinnae is one of my favorite companies… the colors are so cheap, and luscious. Well worth the cost of addiction, in my opinion! I hope your friend loves the results as much as we do!

      Reply

      • Jette
        Dec 03, 2010 @ 03:20:20

        I’m The Friend in question, and this is really helpful! I have a sample size of Epoxy, but haven’t used it yet with my Fyrinnae colors. I love the first lot of Fyrinnae I got, but found that some of them were blotchy when just applied over UDPP. Thanks again! Great tutorial and love your makeup looks!

      • dolcearia
        Dec 03, 2010 @ 08:51:17

        Yep, Fyrinnae shadows are VERY fragile over most primers. Have you played with them wet, Jette? They also work really well with the texture of Urban Decay eye shadow’s, as far as blending goes. The finish that so many UD colors have hides a lot of blending imperfections, and actually makes the whole color look smoother, if you apply it over the lid, and then pat the fyrinnae shade in over top.

        I think you’ll love the pixie epoxy, when you get the hang of it. Good luck!

  4. NeenaJ
    May 06, 2011 @ 12:22:27

    Just discovering your lovely blog. This is hands-down the best Pixie Epoxy tutorial on the web. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 251 other subscribers